I Wish Upon a Firefly~ Original Poem

31 Aug
Original Poem

A cute poem I wrote for English class.

I Wish Upon a Firefly (Original with Refrains)

On warm summer nights

When the stars become old and dim

I go to see the dancing orbs of light,

Stirring the glowing pond

You light up the stars in my sky,
Every night, to warm up my heart
I can feel your arms around me
the warmth of your embrace

The wind in the reeds

Plays a cruel joke on me

And blows the crisp scent of you

Into my face.

You light up the stars in my sky,
Every night, to warm up my heart
I can feel your arms around me
the warmth of your embrace

I turn around,

Hoping for a miracle

But I see nothing

Except the lone weeping tree behind,

The only one who understands my tears

You light up the stars in my sky,
Every night, to warm up my heart
I can feel your arms around me
the warmth of your embrace

You light up my sky,

And send your love to me,

Messages carried in the whispers of the fireflies,

As I wait for you to return to me,

To come back home again.

I can’t stop hoping

That you’ll come back to me

Appearing in the night

Like the fireflies

The fireflies swarm around me,

Whispering words of hope

Like kindred spirits watching over me.

Smiling through my tearstained face

I cup a few into my hands

And make a wish.

I Wish Upon a Firefly (original poem, without the refrains)

On warm summer nights

When the stars become old and dim

I go to see the

Dancing orbs of light

Stirring the glowing pond

The wind in the reeds

Plays a cruel joke on me

And blows the crisp scent of you

Into my face. I turn around,

Hoping for a miracle

But I see nothing

Except the lone weeping tree behind…

The only one who understands my tears.

The fireflies swarm around me,

Whispering words of hope

Like kindred spirit watching over me…

Smiling through my tearstained face

I cup a few into my hands

And make a wish.

~~~~~~~~~

lol, this one (2nd) isn’t as good. i love my Refrain poem though.

Leave a Reply

