“Merci d’avoir enchanté ma vie.” (“Thank you for having enchanted my life.”)

5 Nov

A song we listened to in French class that really resounded with me:

Une Dernière Danse par Kyo (One Last Dance  by: Kyo)

I have glanced over her body a long time,
J’ai longtemps parcouru son corps,
Caressed her face a hundred times,
Effleuré cents fois son visage,
I found gold,
J’ai trouvé de l’or,
And even some stars when wiping her tears,
Et même quelques étoiles en essuyant ses larmes,
And I’ve learned by heart the purity of her curves,
Et J’ai appris par coeur la pureté de ses formes,
Sometimes I still draw them,
Parfois je les dessine encore,
She’s a part of me,
Elle fait partie de moi,

I just want a last dance,
Je veux juste une dernière danse,
Before the shadows and indifference,
Avant l’ombre et l’indifférence,
A dizziness, then silence,
Un vertige puis le silence,
I just want a last dance,
Je veux juste une dernière danse,

I knew her too soon,
Je l’ai connue trop tôt,
But it’s not my fault,
Mais c’est pas de ma faute,
The arrow went through my skin,
La flèche a traversé ma peau,
It’s a pain who keeps itself,
C’est une douleur qui se garde,
That does more good than harm,
Qui fait plus de bien que de mal,
But I know history,
Mais je connais l’histoire,
It’s already too late,
Il est déjà trop tard,
In her eyes (look),
Dans son regard,
You can see she prepares herself,
On peut apercevoir qu’elle se prépare,
For a long journey,
Au long voyage,

I just want a last dance,
Je veux juste une dernière danse,
Before the shadows and indifference,
Avant l’ombre et l’indifférence,
A dizziness, then silence,
Un vertige puis le silence,
I just want a last dance,
Je veux juste une dernière danse,

I could die tomorrow,
Je peux mourir demain,
It would change nothing,
Mais ça ne change rien,
I received from her hands,
J’ai reçu de ses mains,
The happiness anchored in my soul,
Le bonheur ancré dans mon âme,
It’s too much for even one man,
C’est même trop pour un seul homme,

And I saw her leaving without saying anything,
Et je l’ai vue partir sans rien dire,
It’s only necessary that she breathes,
Il fallait seulement qu’elle respire,
Thank you for enchanting my life,
Merci d’avoir enchanté ma vie,

Before the shadows and indifference,
Avant l’ombre et l’indifférence,
A dizziness, then silence,
Un vertige puis le silence,
I just want one last dance.
Je veux juste une dernière danse.

Leave a Reply

