I hope you Dance.

21 Feb

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger
May you never take one single breath for granted
God forbid love ever leave you empty handed
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

I hope you dance
I hope you dance

I hope you never fear those mountains in the distance
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Livin’ might mean takin’ chances, but they’re worth takin’
Lovin’ might be a mistake, but it’s worth makin’
Don’t let some Hellbent heart leave you bitter
When you come close to sellin’ out, reconsider
Give the heavens above more than just a passing glance
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance

I hope you dance
I hope you dance

I heard this on the radio today, and I thought it was a beautiful song. The “I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean” part really got me, I feel like sometimes we don’t think or feel things the way we’re supposed to anymore. The things that people were once compelled to do or found inspiration or comfort in in the past are now overlooked and neglected. Sometimes I ask if there’s something more, something else in the things I’m seeing that seem like they were once so beautiful in other’s eyes but seem so mediocre and lame to me, and if there’s something I’m just not seeing. When I dream of the sky, I think of infinity, heavens, and the abyss all at once. But when I actually see it, it never registers as such. And I think that’s just so sad, especially because I’m an artist and I want to feel moved by the aesthetic aspects of the things I witness.

Do you feel small when you stand beside the ocean? I know I used to, but it was a feeling, a memory of so long ago, so far away that it makes me wonder if I ever felt or thought that way. I’ve become so used to the ocean, I don’t think about things that way anymore. It’s so sad, the things we’ve lost and the things we’ve forgotten… I wish there was something that we could keep in our hearts and minds, like a “change-ometer” that could keep us on the right track as how we were once before, before we start losing things with age, ourselves, other people, other views, and the world. I wish we could somehow be told by our younger selves, perhaps in a dream of sorts, if we lost something essential to ourselves, or changed for the worse. I wish we could ask them if we turned out to be someone we wanted, someone the younger us could look up to.

I wish.

Leave a Reply

